Alternatives
Howseen vs Scrunch (2026), and 5 other alternatives
A side-by-side comparison, then the gaps Scrunch users mention in public reviews and the tools that close them. Every claim is sourced.
By Raphaël Aubry, founder of Howseen AI · Updated October 21, 2026Free trial: 3 days, plans from €39 per month. Cancel anytime from your settings.
This comparison is written by Howseen's founder, so it is not neutral. Scrunch facts come only from scrunch.com/pricing as read on October 21, 2026, and review points are labelled with their source.
In short
The short answer
Scrunch is an AI search platform with monitoring, AI agent traffic analysis and, on Enterprise, an agent experience platform. Its $250 per month Core plan covers four engines; Gemini, Claude and Google AI Mode are on Enterprise. Reviewers mostly flag price, exports and setup.
If you want agent traffic and an enterprise roadmap, Scrunch fits. If you want Gemini and AI Mode at a lower price, with content published for you, compare below.
Head to head
Howseen and Scrunch, compared
Scrunch's pricing page shows two plans, Core and Enterprise, so the table compares Howseen with both. A cell says not shown where the page gives no detail on that row.
| Dimension | Scrunch | Howseen |
|---|---|---|
| AI engines, entry plan | Core: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Copilot | ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode |
| AI engines, top plan | Enterprise: 9, adding Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode, Grok | Same five on Pro (€79), plus Claude on Business |
| Price | Core $250 per month: 125 prompts, 5,000 responses, 5 site audits; Enterprise custom | Plans from €39 per site per month (Pro at €79) |
| Content | Core: basic content generation, 1 page optimization per month; Enterprise: advanced, plus agent experience platform | Writes and publishes to WordPress, Shopify, Ghost, BigCommerce, webhook or a hosted blog |
| AI agent traffic | AI agent and bot traffic analysis on Core | Not part of Howseen today |
| API and MCP | Enterprise only (MCP on custom terms) | MCP server with 26 tools plus REST API, on Pro and Business |
| White-label for agencies | Not shown on its pricing page (a separate agencies tab exists) | White-label client reports |
| Try before paying | 7-day free trial on Core | 3-day free trial, cancel in 1 click |
Source: Scrunch pricing page (scrunch.com/pricing), read on October 21, 2026. Scrunch prices are in US dollars. Some third-party blogs still quote an older plan grid; we only use the official page.
Ownership: Sitecore, a digital experience platform vendor, acquired Scrunch on June 3, 2026. The price was not disclosed; Bloomberg put it at about $225 million (TechTarget, June 4, 2026). If you sign a long contract, ask how plans and roadmap evolve under the new owner.
What users say
What Scrunch users say is missing
Public reviews of Scrunch are still thin: SourceForge showed no reviews on October 6, 2026. The first row is a fact from the pricing page; the others are themes from G2.
| Gap | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Key engines on Enterprise only | Gemini, Claude and Google AI Mode are not in the $250 Core plan | Scrunch pricing page (official) |
| Price for small teams | Reviewers ask for a lighter, cheaper plan for solo users and small agencies | G2, Scrunch AI pros and cons (indexed) |
| Exports | Limited exports make client reporting harder | G2, Scrunch AI pros and cons (indexed) |
| Setup | Onboarding and first configuration described as complex | G2, Scrunch AI pros and cons (indexed) |
| Data clarity | Some data lacks clarity and permissions are finicky | G2, Scrunch AI pros and cons (indexed) |
G2 blocks automated reading, so the four review rows rest on the Scrunch AI pros and cons themes that search engines index. With so few reviews in public, treat each one as a lead to check.
What users like
Give Scrunch its due
Scrunch goes further than most trackers on one front: how AI agents read and visit your site. Reviewers also credit its ease of use and its support team.
- →AI agent and bot traffic analysis on the Core plan, and an agent experience platform on Enterprise (pricing page).
- →Ease of use and customer support are the most cited pros in G2 reviews (indexed).
- →In our earlier research, its cited differentiator on G2 was catching wrong facts AI states about a brand, such as prices or features.
Who switches
Who looks past Scrunch, and why
Its pricing page and reviews point to three reasons to look past Scrunch: the $250 Core plan is heavy for one brand, Gemini and Google AI Mode need an Enterprise contract, and client reports need easier exports. If AI agent traffic is your focus, that is a reason to stay.
Howseen: Gemini and AI Mode without Enterprise
Plans from €39 per site per month; the €79 Pro plan includes the five AI surfaces, then content written and published for you. Honest limit: Howseen does not analyse AI agent traffic and does not track Copilot.
Otterly.AI
The same four engines as Scrunch Core on its entry plan, from $29 per month; Gemini and AI Mode are add-ons there too. See Howseen vs Otterly.AI.
AthenaHQ
Gemini, Claude and AI Mode below Enterprise: 11 models on its $295 Starter, paid in credits. See Howseen vs AthenaHQ.
Profound
If you are heading for an enterprise contract anyway: up to nine engines on its top plan. See Howseen vs Profound.
Peec AI
Analytics-first; Scrunch itself appears on G2's list of Peec AI alternatives. See Howseen vs Peec AI.
Semrush
For AI visibility inside an SEO suite, at $99 per month for the toolkit. See Howseen vs Semrush.
Gap by gap
Which option covers which gap
Each row starts from a point in Scrunch's pricing or its reviews, then shows what Howseen does and what to ask other vendors on a call.
| Gap users mention in Scrunch | Howseen | What to check elsewhere |
|---|---|---|
| Gemini and AI Mode on Enterprise only | Both in the Pro plan (€79) | Which engines does the entry plan include? |
| Price for small teams | Plans from €39 per site per month | Is there a plan sized for one brand? |
| Exports for clients | White-label client reports | Can a client report go out under your brand? |
| Setup | 3-day free trial, cancel in 1 click | Can you see a result before onboarding? |
| Content after the audit | Writes and publishes to your CMS or a hosted blog | How many pages per month can the tool fix? |
Why it matters
AI can only cite the pages it can reach
Scrunch's focus on how agents read your site points to a basic rule: an engine can only cite what its crawler can reach and index. OpenAI and Google both say so in their documentation.
- →ChatGPT search finds pages through OAI-SearchBot, and OpenAI says sites that opt out of it will not be shown in ChatGPT search answers (OpenAI crawler documentation).
- →On Google, a page must be indexed to appear as a supporting link in AI Overviews or AI Mode, and normal SEO practice applies (Google Search Central).
- →Being cited inside the answer is what counts: a classic result got a click in 8% of visits with a Google AI summary, against 15% without (Pew Research Center).
“GEO can boost visibility by up to 40% in generative engine responses.”
Aggarwal et al., GEO: Generative Engine Optimization, KDD 2024
More on the mechanism in how AI engines choose which brands to cite. To compare tools on what they measure, see the AI visibility tool buyer's guide.
Howseen vs Scrunch, answered
Who owns Scrunch?+
Sitecore, a digital experience platform vendor, announced on June 3, 2026 that it had acquired Scrunch. It did not disclose the price; Bloomberg reported about $225 million, according to TechTarget.
How much does Scrunch cost?+
On October 21, 2026, its pricing page showed the Core plan at $250 per month (125 prompts, 5,000 responses per month) with a 7-day free trial, and a custom-priced Enterprise plan.
Which AI engines does Scrunch track?+
Core covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot. Enterprise covers nine, adding Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode and Grok.
What do users dislike about Scrunch?+
In G2 reviews: the price for solo users and small agencies, limited exports, a complex setup, and data clarity and permissions. Public reviews are still few.
What is the best Scrunch alternative?+
For Gemini and AI Mode included at a lower price, with content published to your CMS, Howseen, plans from €39 per site per month (Pro at €79 includes Gemini and AI Mode). For a low entry price, Otterly.AI. For many engines, AthenaHQ.
How does Howseen's price compare with Scrunch?+
Howseen plans start at €39 per site per month; the €79 Pro plan includes Gemini and Google AI Mode. Scrunch Core costs $250 per month for ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot, with Gemini and AI Mode on Enterprise. Howseen: a 3-day free trial, cancellable in 1 click.
Find out which engines name you, before any contract
The 3-day free trial tracks your real buyer questions on every engine, so you know what you need from a tool. Cancel in 1 click.